top of page

Grimmfest 2020 Award Winners


This year, GRIMMFEST, Manchester's Festival of Horror, Cult and Fantastic Film, celebrated its twelfth anniversary in rather different circumstances. After the ongoing Pandemic situation necessitated a move online, the festival staged a successful five-day invasion of homes across the UK and Northern Ireland (7-11 Oct), reaching a wider audience than ever before, while offering a variety of the strongest, most challenging, thought-provoking and boundary-pushing genre films of 2020.

The event presented over 23 feature film premieres, 28 short films premieres, Live Q&As for nearly every feature film and two special events; a Female Horror Icons panel which showcased a lively discussion between stars of the genre, Krista Allen, Caroline Williams, Tiffany Shepis, Pollyanna McIntosh, Kelli Maroney and Natasha Halevi, and an interactive question and answer session with this year’s recipient of the Grimmfest Lifetime Achievement Award, Mick Garris (Masters of Horror, The Stand).

And now the festival has closed, Grimmfest announce the annual ‘Reaper’ award winners.

Guest of Honour Mick Garris received a ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’, (presented in association with The Horror Channel) just before the festival. Mick also chaired this year's festival Jury and was joined by directors Chelsea Stardust (SATANIC PANIC) and Abigail Blackmore (TALES FROM THE LODGE), writer and critic Preston Fassel (FANGORIA, etc), and Dread Central chief editor Josh Millican, for some doubtlessly difficult deliberations.

Now the Festival Jury's votes are all in, the Grimmfest team would like to thank the jury for their commitment, discernment and diplomacy.

Grimmfest is delighted to announce the winners in each category:

Best Feature: ROPES (

Best Director: JOHN HYAMS, for ALONE (

Best Screenplay: JON STEVENSON for RENT-A-PAL (

With Special mention for BREA GRANT for 12 HOUR SHIFT. (



Best Actress: PAULA DEL RIO for ROPES (

With Special mention for MARTA KRÓL for I AM REN. (

There was much praise this year for ensemble players and films in which it was impossible to single out one performance, among a cast working so well together. Special mentions for THE OAK ROOM, 12 HOUR SHIFT, UNEARTHED, TRIGGERED, REVENGE RIDE, and THE DEEP ONES.

Best Cinematography: FRIED BARRY (


Best Scare: URUBU (

Best Short film: PETER THE PENGUIN (

With special mention for BEAUTY JUICE and THE ALTURIST.

Audience award: THE OAK ROOM ( HYPERLINK ""

Festival director Simeon Halligan said: “It’s certainly been a challenging year for everyone. We didn’t take our decision to move Grimmfest 2020 online, lightly. But in light of the current situation in the UK and around the world we think we made the right choice. The Grimmfest team worked incredibly hard to make this online offering as engaging and interactive as possible, so as to create something akin to the live event. We are pleased that the horror film community and fans whole heartedly embraced the event and we congratulate all the award-winning films and film makers.”

1 view0 comments


bottom of page